What is ParCoLab?

ParCoLab is a 8.758.818-word parallel corpus containing original texts and their translations in 3 European languages: Serbian, French and English. Each of the three languages is represented both as a source language and as a target language in the corpus. The project manager is Dejan Stosic, Associate Professor at Toulouse Jean Jaurès University, member of the CLLE-ERSS research unit (UMR 5263 of CNRS). ParCoLab is a result of numerous collaborations between linguists and NLP scientists.

The corpus texts are aligned at the paragraph and sentence level, which means that each paragraph and each sentence of the original texts are linked with their respective translations in one or both remaining languages of the corpus. A great advantage of our parallel corpus lies in the high quality of the alignments, which are validated manually. Although at the moment it contains mostly literary texts, ParCoLab is becoming a more diversified resource as other text genres are being included (web content, movie subtitles, technical documentation, etc.).

The value and the originality of the corpus reside in the richness and the quality of its content, but also in the structure and annotation principles which follow the current standards for corpus constitution and distribution (XML format based on the TEI P5 recommendations).

ParCoLab can be consulted online for free: in order to do so, you only need to create a user account (here) or, if you already have one, to log in (here). A search engine allows you to perform searches concerning an expression you wish to examine, and then extract the results, as well as the corresponding utterances in one or two other languages.

This corpus finds its principal use in scientific research and in language teaching. ParCoLab is a significant source of data for linguistic studies of Serbian, French and English, as well as for research in comparative linguistics and linguistic typology. The corpus can also be used in language teaching and learning, translation studies and translator training. Different applications in lexicography, teaching material creation and computer assisted translation can also be developed. Finally, several resources for NLP applications based on ParCoLab are under construction.

Since one of the main principles of our project is constant improvement, we continue to work hard on advancing the corpus from the technical, qualitative and quantitative point of view.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Team]    [Documentation]  [Content]   [Publications]   [Resources]   [Acknowledgments]

Qu’est-ce que ParCoLab?

ParCoLab est un corpus parallèle de 8.758.818 mots comportant des textes originaux et leurs traductions dans trois langues d’Europe: le serbe, le français et l’anglais. Chacune des trois langues est prise comme langue source et comme langue cible. Le projet est dirigé par Dejan Stosic, enseignant-chercheur à l’Université Toulouse Jean Jaurès, membre du Laboratoire CLLE-ERSS (UMR 5263 du CNRS). ParCoLab est le résultat de nombreuses collaborations entre des linguistes et des spécialistes du traitement automatique des langues.

Les textes recueillis sont alignés au niveau des paragraphes et des phrases, ce qui signifie que tout paragraphe et toute phrase d’un original est mis/e en correspondance avec sa traduction dans une ou dans les deux autres langues. Le grand atout de notre corpus parallèle réside dans la fiabilité des alignements qui sont validés manuellement. Pour l’instant constitué essentiellement de textes littéraires, ParCoLab est en train de devenir une ressource comportant des documents de plusieurs genres différents (web, sous-titres de films, documentation technique, etc.).

L’intérêt et l’originalité du corpus viennent non seulement de la richesse et de la qualité de son contenu mais aussi des principes de structuration et d’annotation qui respectent les standards actuels en matière de constitution et de diffusion de corpus (format XML, normé TEI).

ParCoLab est consultable gratuitement en ligne – pour cela il vous suffit de vous inscrire (ici) ou, si vous possédez déjà un compte, de vous identifier (ici). Un outil de requête permet d’y effectuer des recherches et d’extraire des résultats comportant l’expression que vous souhaitez étudier, ainsi que les énoncés correspondants dans une ou dans les deux autres langues.

La ressource est destinée essentiellement à des fins scientifiques et pédagogiques. ParCoLab permet en particulier de se procurer des données pour des études linguistiques sur le serbe, sur le français et sur l’anglais et pour des travaux s’inscrivant dans une perspective comparative ou typologique. L’outil présente également un intêret dans l’enseignement et l’apprentissage du Français/ Anglais/ Serbe Langue Etrangère et du Français Langue Seconde (FLS) ainsi que dans la formation des traducteurs et traductologues. De nombreuses applications (en lexicographie et dans les domaines de la création de ressources pédagogiques et de la traduction assistée par ordinateur) sont également envisagées. De même, plusieurs ressources pour le traitement automatique du serbe sont en cours de développement à partir de ParCoLab.

En permanente évolution, la ressource s’enrichit régulièrement des points de vue technique, qualitatif et quantitatif.

 

[Equipe]     [Contenu]   [Technologies]    [Publications]   [Ressources]    [Remerciements]